This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Senior Families Gather to Celebrate 2021 Baccalaureate Mass

On Sunday, May 16, senior Ramblers and their parents or guardians gathered on Loyola Academy’s Hoerster Field to celebrate the Baccalaureate Mass, held each spring to honor the graduating class. The in-person celebration hosted graduates and their parents/guardians, and a livestream of the event was available to the wider community. In his Homily, Loyola Academy President Rev. Patrick E. McGrath, SJ, told the Class of 2021: “You find yourself at an extraordinarily important and beautiful moment of transition and growth.”
After celebrating the Eucharist, Principal Charlie Heintz presented the following awards to two outstanding members of the Class of 2021:

The Fausone Medal 
The Dumbach Scholars Honors Program annually presents the Fausone Medal, which recognizes one of our most inspirational students, Molly Fausone, a member of the Class of 2008. Despite a traumatic accident before her sophomore year, Molly excelled at Loyola in the classroom, on sports teams and as a key contributor to the Dumbach Scholars. The Fausone Medal winner is awarded to a member of our community who inspires us. Prior Fausone Medalists have inspired with their perseverance, their activism and their heroism.  This year’s winner represents the ideals of this award by showing determination and resilience. The 2021 Fausone Medal recipient is Abdulmalik M. “Malik” Aro. Click here to view a special video message from Molly to Malik and the Class of 2021. 

The Rebarchak Award
The Rebarchak Award is presented annually to a senior student who has modeled service to the school community. This award honors the memory of Michael Rebarchak, an outstanding member of the Class of 1979, and it recognizes the substantive yet unheralded contribution made to Loyola by a senior student who quietly makes things happen through his or her involvement in and around the school. During her address, Paige Finley, the 2021 Michael Rebarchak '79 Memorial Award recipient, spoke these words: “I want to leave Loyola knowing that I gave everything I could to change something or someone for the better, even if nobody ever knows it was me. ...Nobody walks into Loyola knowing exactly what they are doing or what they want to do. However, over the last four years, I have seen my classmates be kind to one another, work to make everyone feel included, and cheer each other on, and today I realize that our legacy is seen in the culmination of all of the little and big things that we have done for each other and for our community. Our legacy truly is being men and women for others.”

Before the liturgy concluded, Fr. McGrath blessed the St. Ignatius medals that are distributed to each year's graduating class—a cherished Loyola tradition: "Gracious God, your saints and holy ones perpetually give you glory...may this holy image of St. Ignatius Loyola be for all who wear it a source of your rich blessings and a gateway to your loving presence."

A special thank you to the following students and staff members whose participation helped to make this a beautiful celebration: Isabella Lombardo ’21 (cantor), Mr. Mike Gregg (accompanist, guitar), Mr. Sean McQuinn (accompanist, piano), Hayes Flanagan ’21 (call to worship), Devin Smoter ’21 (first reading), Hawa Diabor ’21 (responsorial psalm), Mary Frances Whelan ’21 (second reading), Lily McManamy ’21 (general intercession), Fr. Stan Czarnecki, SJ, and Mr. Doug Gleber.
Enjoy the full 2021 Baccalaureate Mass here. Congratulations to the senior class and our 2021 award recipients!
    • 2021 Baccalaureate Mass

      2021 Baccalaureate Mass

    • 2021 Baccalaureate Mass

      Molly Fausone to Fausone Medal Recipient and the Class of 2021

Loyola Academy

1100 Laramie Avenue, Wilmette, Illinois 60091-1089  |  847-256-1100
Loyola Academy admits students of any race, color and national origin or ethnic origin.
© Copyright 2020 Loyola Academy