This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

1970 Hockey Team (1999)

Loyola Academy Hockey made an immediate impact upon its arrival in the 1965-1966 season. Five seasons later, after four consecutive second place finishes, the 1970 Hockey Team skated to an 8-1-1 League record and captured its first Chicago Catholic League championship. This outstanding accomplishment has earned this team the right to be placed among Loyola's all-time great teams. The season opened on a sour note with a hard-fought loss to a talented Mt. Carmel team. Using that loss as motivation, Coach Dan Corns' team reeled off eight straight victories, including a 9-3 rematch victory over Mt. Carmel. The following week, Loyola met perennial power Brother Rice with the League championship on the line. Led by junior Tom Machowski's hat trick, the Ramblers defeated the crusaders 4-3 and were crowned Catholic League champions. This win was especially sweet because Brother Rice has eliminated the Ramblers from the championship the previous season. Truly, this was a well-deserved honor for this team. The first round of the Kennedy Cup Playoffs matched Loyola against Fenwick. The Ramblers triumphed in the first game 7-3. An overtime loss in game two forced a deciding third game to determine who advanced to the finals. Before the largest crowd of the season, the Ramblers won 2-1, advancing to play their nemesis, Brother Rice, for the Kennedy Cup championship. Unfortunately, this series proved even more grueling than the Fenwick series. In one of the most exciting games in Loyola's hockey history, the Ramblers dropped a 2-1 triple overtime thriller. Needing a win to stay alive, the Ramblers played courageously but lost 4-1 in the deciding game. However, these losses did not diminish the remarkable season that the Ramblers had. Along with the team's success, there were individual honors as well. Goalie Mike Leary closed out his three-year varsity career with his selection to the Catholic League All-Star team, and he also won the League's Most Valuable Player award. In addition to Leary, three other Ramblers were named to the All-Star team: senior Ned Daly, junior Tom Machowski, and sophomore Dan Corns Jr. Coach Dan Corns Sr. was honored as Catholic League Coach of the Year. The 1970 Hockey Team was a group of unselfish and motivated players, all dedicated to achieving the same goal: a Catholic League championship. Given their success, this team earned its place in Loyola's illustrious hockey history. 1970 Hockey Team (left to right) First Row: Charlie Smurlo, Jim Fahey, Brian Janaes, Rick Morel, Ned Daly, Mike Leary, Dan Corns Jr., Mike Moore, Rob Jorgenson. Second Row: Manager Bill Rychlik, Dick Del Fava, Jim Lee, Bob Acton, Marty Fahey, Tom Machowski, Terry De Mots, John McGavock, Mark Brown, Jim Reifenberg, Coach Dan Corns. Not pictured: Perry Albrecht, John Dolan.

Loyola Academy

1100 Laramie Avenue, Wilmette, Illinois 60091-1089  |  847-256-1100
Loyola Academy admits students of any race, color and national origin or ethnic origin.
© Copyright 2020 Loyola Academy