This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

1924-1928 Championship Teams (1999)

The Loyola Academy athletic teams competing between 1924-1928 were some of the most successful in the history of the school. During this five-year period, the Ramblers captured an extraordinary eighteen Chicago Catholic League championships. Loyola's titles included two in football, two in basketball, five in track and field, two in baseball, four in swimming, and three in tennis. Hall of Fame Coach Lenny Sachs (football, basketball, track and field) led teams to nine of those eighteen crowns. The players who starred for the 1924-1928 championship teams are too numerous to mention in full, but they included Hall of Famers Bert Metzger (later an All-American at Notre Dame playing for Knute Rockne), Ernie Dorn, Bill Griffin, Jim Mooney, and John Sullivan as well as standouts John Ladner, Fred Sextro, Jim X. Bremner, and the Mooney brothers. It is fitting that we end this millennium, and this century of Loyola Academy athletic excellence, by paying tribute to these almost forgotten Ramblers who in their youth helped build that tradition. FOOTBALL: 1926, 1926 BASKETBALL: 1925, 1926 TRACK: 1924, 1925, 1926, 1927, 1928 SWIMMING: 1924, 1926, 1927 TENNIS: 1924, 1925, 1928 BASEBALL: 1925, 1928

Loyola Academy

1100 Laramie Avenue, Wilmette, Illinois 60091-1089  |  847-256-1100
Loyola Academy admits students of any race, color and national origin or ethnic origin.
© Copyright 2020 Loyola Academy